23/06/11 splattered eggs!!!!!!

23 Jun

Well, had an eventful teatime. Paul cooked us chips, beans, gammon and sausage for him and Bay and pineapple rings. All I had to do was the eggs. He does everything else but prefers to leave the eggs for me. 

So he heats the oil for me, I pick up the first egg, cracked it on the frying pan and at that very moment I get a massive muscle jerk in my arm and hand and the egg gets crushed! It literally went everywhere. The runny part was all over  my hand and all over the work top, the yolk, still half in the shell, was teatering on going the same way. So tipped that into the frying pan and it went instantly solid and left the pan needing cleaning before I could try again.

Finally got the pan back, picked up egg number 2, carefully tapped it on the pan, got it open and into the fat in one piece then muscle jerked again and I chucked the egg shell right on top of it. Fished that out and the other 3 eggs managed not to cause me trouble.

So, eggs nicely cooking and I get round to thinking about cleaning up the mess I made on the work top. I go fetch the kitchen roll and start to mop up the egg, when, you’ve guessed it, I get another muscle jerk. This time sideways, with kitchen roll still in hand, I jerk it under the frying pan into the flame of my gas hob. Next thing, as my hand relaxes and I pull it away from the hob, I notice with horror that the kitchen roll I’m holding has caught fire. I look at it for a few seconds thinking ‘now what?’ before folding the soggy bit over the fire bit and pushing it into the pile of egg white still sat on the surface and snuffed out the flame! 

There’s a reason why I can’t cook a meal and I think this says it all!

Leave a comment